In 1901, the widow of Edward N. Gibbs, a patient of Dr. Edward Janeway, established the Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Endowment to award a prize to a physician in practice in the United States for the best original work in the etiology, pathology, and treatment of the diseases of the kidney. The first awardee was Donald W. Seldin, MD, William Buchanan Chair of Internal Medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

The New York Academy of Medicine seeks nominations of physician scientists who have dedicated their careers to advances in nephrology or are presently making cutting-edge discoveries in the field. Candidates must hold an MD degree and be citizens of the United States to be considered for this award.  The distinguished recipient of this honor will present his or her research at a lecture before a broad audience of scientists and clinicians, to be held at The New York Academy of Medicine in the fall of 2018.  The award recipient will receive the Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Medal and an honorarium of $7,500; all travel expenses associated with the lecture will be paid by the Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Endowment. It is expected that the manuscript from this lecture will be submitted to a scholarly journal for publication.

Deserving individuals may be nominated by submitting a detailed letter, not to exceed three pages, outlining the importance of the candidate's work and explaining why his or her research embodies seminal and significant contributions to the field of nephrology. Individuals who have been nominated previously but not selected may be nominated again, but a new submission is required. The candidate's curriculum vitae, and the names of three persons from whom references may be solicited, must accompany the letter of nomination. The combined materials must be forwarded as a single PDF document to the following email:

Contact information

The New York Academy of Medicine
Office of Trustee and Fellowship Affairs
1216 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10029-5202
Tel: 212-419-3645


Previous Recipients 

Ronald Falk, MD, FACP, FASN

Chair of the Department of Medicine, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension at the University of  North Carolina. 
“ANCA Vasculitis and Human Autoimmunity”


Qais Al-Awqati, MB, ChB

Robert F. Loeb Professor of Medicine, The Jay I. Meltzer Professor of Nephrology & Hypertension Professor of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics Columbia University Development of Nephrons and Kidneys: A Scenic Tour


Eli A. Friedman, MD, MACP, FACP

Distinguished Teaching Professor of Medicine State University of New York, Health Science Center at Brooklyn Pandemic Diabetes and Diabetic Kidney Disease


Maurice B. Burg, MD

Principal Investigator National Institutes of Health Living with Salt


Franklin H. Epstein, MD

William Applebaum Professor of Medicine Harvard Medical School Senior Physician Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Preeclampsia


Gerhard H. Giebisch, MD

Sterling Professor Emeritus of Cellular and Molecular Physiology Yale University School of Medicine Physiology and Pathophysiology of Renal Potassium Excretion


Saulo Klahr, MD

John E. & Adaline Simon Professor of Medicine Washington University School of Medicine The Role of Vasoactive Compounds, Cytokines and Growth Factors in Renal Fibrosis


Robert W. Schrier, MD

Professor and Chairman of the Department of Medicine University of Colorado School of Medicine Unifying Hypothesis of Body Fluid Volume Regulation: Implications for Cardiac Failure and Cirrhosis


Donald W. Seldin, MD

William Buchanan Chair of Internal Medicine Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, University of Texas Renal Mechanisms for the Pathogenesis of Hypokalemia and Alkalosis