Sign Up

To receive our monthly eNews as well as event notices and other updates, just enter your email address.

   Please leave this field empty

Stay Connected

Take a moment to learn more about NYAM's activities and events.

Endowed Lectures


  • The Millie and Richard Brock Lecture

    The Brock Lecture was established by Millie and Richard Brock in 1987 on the 100th anniversary of The Academy’s Section on Pediatrics to select a nationally recognized leader in pediatrics to deliver the annual Brock Lecture. The Brock Lecture held at the Academy will address issues concerned with providing care for underserved children.
  • The Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Lecture and Award in Nephrology

    In 1901, the widow of Edward N. Gibbs, a patient of Dr. Edward Janeway, established the Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Endowment to award a prize to a physician in practice in the United States for the best original work in the etiology, pathology, and treatment of the diseases of the kidney. Under this program, The New York Academy of Medicine's Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Award and Lecture in Nephrology is presented bi-annually to recognize scientific achievement and outstanding contributions by an individual to basic science or clinical medicine, especially as those contributions relate to nephrology. The awardees' activities may have been accomplished in any nephrology-related area, including research, teaching and education, clinical expertise, medical care programs, and authorship.
  • The Glorney-Raisbeck Lecture and Award in Cardiology

    The Glorney-Raisbeck Award is presented annually to a clinician or basic scientist in recognition of outstanding contributions to the understanding and treatment of cardiovascular diseases. The first Glorney-Raisbeck Award was presented posthumously in 1988 to Milton J. Raisbeck, MD, an exceptional cardiologist involved in the advancement of medical education and research. Since then this level of achievement has been reflected in an outstanding series of Glorney-Raisbeck awardees.
  • The Dr. Steve Miller Humanism in Medicine Lecture, Supported by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation

    The Steve Miller Fund for Humanism in Medicine at The New York Academy of Medicine was established in 2005 by family, friends and admirers who want to honor the memory of Dr. Steve Miller and advance his crusade to embed humanism in medicine. The Fund will support an annual lecture and award, as well as educational and research opportunities that demonstrate and investigate new ways of teaching human, social, and cultural dimensions of illness, health, and health care.
  • The Lewis and Jack Rudin New York Prize for Medicine and Health

    The Lewis and Jack Rudin New York Prize for Medicine and Health was established in 2003 by Jack Rudin to create a forum for distinguished members of the New York City biomedical community to receive recognition from their colleagues and peers in the health care professions and to provide them with an opportunity to share information regarding their innovative research for addressing pressing health care issues facing New Yorkers. Previous recipients of this $50,000 prize have been Dr. David Ho of the Aaron Diamond AIDS Research Center and The Rockefeller University, Dr. Harold Freeman of the National Cancer Institute, Dr. John H. Laragh of the New York Presbyterian Hospital-Weill Cornell Medical Center and Dr. Susan Band Horwitz of Albert Einstein College of Medicine.
  • The Thomas W. Salmon Award and Lecture

    Each year The New York Academy of Medicine's Salmon Committee on Psychiatry and Mental Hygiene recognizes a prominent specialist in psychiatry, neurology or mental hygiene by presenting The Thomas William Salmon Award for outstanding contributions to these fields. On the same occasion, The Thomas William Salmon Lecturer, chosen from among the nation's most talented investigators, is invited to share his or her research with the New York area psychiatric community. The Salmon Lecture, first given in 1932, and the Salmon Medal, first awarded in 1942, are presented in memory of Thomas W. Salmon (1876-1927), a gifted and beloved physician whose contribution to the cause of the mentally ill and distressed was one of the most notable of his generation.
For more information on any of these programs, please contact:

Office of Trustee and Fellowship Affairs
The New York Academy of Medicine
1216 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10029
Tel: 212-419-3645

How to Apply

Instructions on how to apply for NYAM's research fellowships, student grants, endowed lectures and awards are contained within the description of each program. Please click on your program of interest for full details.

The 2014 Nahum J. Winer Lecture

NYAM welcomed Harlan M. Krumholz, MD to deliver the 2014 Nahum J. Winer Lecture on November 12, 2014. The topic of his lecture was “Is Hospitalization Toxic to Patients and Does it Cause a Post-Hospital Syndrome? Time to Rethink the Hospital Experience".

View the full story»

The 2015 Howard Fox Memorial Lecture

On February 10, 2015, Kenneth Tomecki, MD delivered the 60th Howard Fox, MD Memorial lecture at NYAM on the topic of “What’s New in Dermatological Therapy.”

View the full story»

The 2015 Ferdinand C. Valentine Award

The Academy honored Jerry G. Blaivas, MD, FACS and William C. de Groat, MD with the 2015 Ferdinand C. Valentine Award for outstanding contributions to the field of urology on April 8, 2015.

View the full story»

The 2015 Millie & Richard Brock Lecture

The New York Academy of Medicine welcomed Jan Blacher, PhD to deliver the 2015 Millie and Richard Brock Lecture in Pediatrics on May 7, 2015. The topic of her lecture was “The Collateral Effects of Autism on Families: Why Professionals Should Care”.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software