Sign Up

To receive our monthly eNews as well as event notices and other updates, just enter your email address.

   Please leave this field empty

Stay Connected

Take a moment to learn more about NYAM's activities and events.

The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize

(Deadline: December 2, 2013)

See Previous Recipients »


The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize of The New York Academy of Medicine was established in 1995 in honor of Lewis Rudin, the New York City real estate developer, and is funded by the May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation with additional support provided by Mr. Jack Rudin.

This $50,000 prize is awarded for the most outstanding scholarly article on glaucoma published in a peer-reviewed journal during the previous calendar year. Nominations are solicited from leaders of the ophthalmologic community and solicited through notices in the Journal of Glaucoma and other publications.

One prize winner is recommended for ratification by the Academy’s Board of Trustees by the Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize Selection Committee, a group of nationally recognized experts in glaucoma research chaired by David H. Abramson, MD of Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and Weill Medical College of Cornell University.

Eligibility Requirements

Nominees for this award must be the first or last author of the published work and must hold primary responsibility for the research. Authors may nominate themselves but may not submit multiple articles and must choose only one article to submit for consideration by the committee.

Application Process

Please complete all relevant areas of the attached one-page nomination form. Questions or comments regarding the Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize, the instructions, or the nomination form, should be directed to the Office of Trustee and Fellowship Affairs of The New York Academy of Medicine.

Nomination materials must be submitted electronically by emailing the completed nomination form with an accompanying electronic copy of the published article as e-mail attachments to

Nominations must be received no later than Dec 2, 2013.

Award Information

The prize winner will be announced within weeks of the submission deadline. All authors of the article receive recognition, however the monetary prize is granted solely to the primary researcher specified in the nomination.


Application Forms

MS-Word (Form Fields Included)
Adobe PDF

By signing the above linked application, the applicant and their institution agree to the NYAM Patent Policy

Contact information

Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize
Office of Sponsored Programs
The New York Academy of Medicine
1216 Fifth Avenue
New York, New York 10029
Tel: (212) 822-7204
Fax: (212) 822-7338

The mission of The New York Academy of Medicine is to advance the health of people in cities. Drawing on the expertise of diverse partners worldwide and more than 2,000 elected Fellows from across the professions, our current priorities are to create environments in cities that support healthy aging; to strengthen systems that prevent disease and promote the public's health; to eliminate health disparities; and preserve and promote the heritage of medicine and public health.

How to Apply

Instructions on how to apply for NYAM's research fellowships, student grants, endowed lectures and awards are contained within the description of each program. Please click on your program of interest for full details.

Amy Paller Delivers the 2014 Howard Fox Memorial Lecture

Amy Paller Delivers the 2014 Howard Fox Memorial Lecture

On February 18, 2014, Amy Paller, MS, MD delivered the 60th Howard Fox, MD Memorial lecture at NYAM on the topic of “Update on Genetic Skin Disorders and Their Management.” Dr. Paller is the Walter J. Hamlin Chair and Professor of Dermatology, Professor of Pediatrics, and Principal Investigator of the NIH-funded Skin Disease Research Center at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine. In her talk, Dr. Paller reviewed the landscape of genetic dermatological diseases and provided a front row view of cutting-edge, future treatment options through new technologies including small interfering RNA conjugated nanoparticles, stem cell therapy, and gene replacement therapy.

Michael A. Weber, MD Delivers the 2013 Nahum J. Winer Lecture at NYAM

Michael A. Weber, MD Delivers the 2013 Nahum J. Winer Lecture at NYAM

NYAM welcomed Michael A. Weber, MD to deliver the 2013 Nahum J. Winer Lecturer on October 8, 2013. Dr. Weber is Professor of Medicine at the SUNY Downstate College of Medicine in Brooklyn, New York. The topic of his lecture was “Unresolved Issues in Diagnosing and Treating Hypertension: Is Renal Sympathectomy An Answer?

Powered by Convio
nonprofit software