2011 Annual Report / Awards

Awards, Grants, Fellowships, and Lectures

NYAM has a long tradition of recognizing excellence in achievements in medicine and research with distinguished awards and the funding of new research, fellowships and lectureships through the generosity of donors who have established endowed funds. We are honored to report NYAM's 2010 recipients.

17th Annual Gala Honorees

William C. Weldon
Chairman and CEO, Johnson & Johnson
Urban Health Champion Award
Marcel Van Ooyen
Executive Director, GrowNYC

Academy Distinguished Contribution Awards

The Stephen Smith Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Public Health
Thomas Frieden, MD, MPH
Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and Administrator of the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
The Academy Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Biomedical Science
Susan Band Horwitz, PhD
Falkenstein Professor of Cancer Research and Co-Chair of the Department of Molecular Pharmacology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine; Associate Director for Therapeutics at the Albert Einstein Cancer Center
The John Stearns Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Medicine
Rita Charon, MD, PhD
Professor of Clinical Medicine at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University and Director of the Program in Narrative Medicine
The Academy Medal for Distinguished Contributions in Health Policy
Vivian Pinn, MD
Director of the Office of Research on Women's Health (ORWH) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH); NIH Associate Director for Research on Women's Health
The Academy Plaque for Exceptional Service to the Academy
Anne Moore, MD
Professor of Clinical Medicine and Medical Director of the Breast Oncology Program at the Weill Cornell Medical College

Research Fellowships and Awards

The Audrey and William H. Helfand Fellowship in the History of Medicine and Public Health ($5,000)
Cindy Stelmackowich, MA, PhD
"Picturing Pathology: Morbid Anatomy Diagrams, Pathological Atlases and Disease, 1800-1840"
Mary and David Hoar Fellowship in the Prevention and Treatment of Hip Fracture ($100,000, Made possible through a grant from The New York Community Trust)
Fred C. Ko, MD, MS
Mount Sinai School of Medicine "Inflammatory and Neuropeptide Mediators: Improving Pain and Function in Hip Fracture"
Glorney-Raisbeck Fellowship in Cardiovascular Diseases ($60,000)
Lori K. Soni, MD
Columbia University Medical Center "The TASK-1 Channel in Atrial Fibrillation as a Selective, Therapeutic Target"
Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize ($50,000)
David J. Calkins, PhD
Vanderbilt Eye Institute, Vanderbilt University "Distal axonopathy with structural persistence in glaucomatous neurodegeneration"
Paul Klemperer Fellowship in the History of Medicine ($5,000)
Heiko Pollmeier, PhD
"The German medical community in New York City, 1857-1917. Networks – Media – Institutions"


Ed Hornick Memorial Lecture and Award
Glenn Saxe, MD
"Treating Traumatic Stress in Children and Adolescents"
Thomas W. Salmon Award and Lecture
Medalist: Max Fink, MD Lecturer: Helen S. Mayberg, MD
"Deep Brain Stimulation: Rethinking Depression and its Treatment"
Ferdinand C. Valentine Lecture and Award
Alan J. Wein, MD
"Overactive Bladder: Over 15 Years of Personal Observations and Controversies"
Duncan W. Clark Lecture
Donna Shalala, PhD
"The Future of Nursing"
Howard Fox Memorial Lecture
Jouni Uitto, MD, PhD
"Molecular Therapies for Rare Heritable Skin Diseases"
Annual Friends of the Rare Book Room Lecture
Domenico Bertoloni Meli, PhD
"Vivisection in William Harvey's Century" Awards
Iago Galdston Lecture
Barron H. Lerner, MD, PhD
"One for the Road: Drunk Driving Since 1900"
Leslie J. Reagan, PhD
"Dangerous Pregnancies: German Measles (Rubella), Mothers, and Disabilities in Modern America"
John K. Lattimer Lecture
Jeffrey Jentzen, MD
"Death Investigation in America"
Steven Z. Miller Lecture on Humanism in Medicine
Lewis R. First, MD
"Thoughts on Humanistic Pediatric Leadership: Some 'First' Impressions After 17+ 'Fun-filled' Years as a Pediatric Department Chair and Child Advocate"
Lewis and Jack Rudin New York Prize for Medicine and Health Lecture
John Billings, JD
"Population Health: Improving Health of Vulnerable Populations"

Student Grants

Glorney-Raisbeck Medical Student Grants in Cardiovascular Research ($4,000)
Stephanie Chu
Joan & Sanford I. Weill Medical College of Cornell University "Hydrogen Sulfide: Cytoprotection against Oxidative Stress and ATP Fluctuation"
Sue Hahn
Feinstein Institute for Medical Research "The Kinetics of High Mobility Group Box-1 (HMGB1) During Acute Coronary Syndromes"
Kseniya Khmara
SUNY Downstate College of Medicine "Assessment of Endothelial Function by Dose Response Curve Methodology"
Gabriela Magda
Columbia University Medical Center "Troponin Trends and Other Donor Characteristics as Predictors of Heart Transplant Recipient Outcomes"


"NYAM does many things for our community and for our physicians but among the most important, in my view, is providing protected time for introducing young post-graduate physicians to the world of research, which is the act of creation of new knowledge. Today, when money to fund such activities is more limited than at any time in recent memory, the importance of the NYAM programs for physician training in research is greater than ever. Without such opportunities, we as a society will never move beyond where we are at present, we will never have new diagnostic methods or new treatments to reduce suffering and to prolong useful life. Very few programs like those of NYAM exist in the US — we should support NYAM strongly in these efforts!"
-Jeffrey S. Borer, MD, Professor of Medicine, Cell Biology, Radiology and Surgery, State University of New York Downstate Medical Center and College of Medicine in New York City, 1974 Recipient of the Glorney-Raisbeck Fellowship in the Medical Sciences