2011 Annual Report / Caring

Caring Beyond Our Own Lifetime

For 164 years, NYAM has been dedicated to advancing the health of people in cities. Endowed gifts and bequests are investments in the future and enable donors to impact the lives of individuals long past their lifetimes. Today, income from permanent endowment funds provides NYAM with a dependable financial base and the capacity to award grants and fellowships. We acknowledge the generosity of the donors to these funds and the individuals whose lives they honor:

1895  Alfred L. Loomis Fund
1901  Edward N. Gibbs Memorial Prize
1917  Ferdinand C. Valentine Funds
1928  Academy Rare Book Fund
1931  Thomas W. Salmon Memorial Fund
1940  Louis Livingston Seaman Fund
1942  The Alexander Cochran Bowen and Harlow
          Brooks Scholarship Fund
1943  George R. Seidenberg Memorial Lectures
          A. Richard Stern Memorial Fund
1944  Sara Welt Fund
1945  John A. Hartwell Memorial Fund
1947  Charles H. May Memorial Lecture
1951  Albert A. Berg Trust
1955  Howard Fox Memorial Fund
1960  William Wainer Hoppin Memorial Awards
1961  Glorney-Raisbeck Fellowship in
          the Medical Sciences
1974  Karl Vogel Fund
1977  Charles A. Elsberg Fellowship Fund
          for Neurological Surgery
1978  Academy Lecture Fund
1983  Sylvia and Herbert Berger Lectureship Fund
1984  Duncan W. Clark Lectureship Fund

1986  Robert S. Coles Distinguished Lectures in
          Ophthalmology Fund
          John K. Lattimer Lecture Fund
          Paul Klemperer Award
          Paul Klemperer Fellowship Fund in
          the History of Medicine
1987  Brock Educational Fund
1990  Samuel W. Lambert Memorial Fund
          Edward N. Roeser Memorial Fund
          Nahum J. Winer Memorial Fund
1992  Leonard F. Ciner Book Fund
1994  Ruth and Abraham Walters Fund in
          Health, Law and Ethics
1996  David E. Rogers Fellowship Fund
1997  Gladys Brooks Conservation/
          Preservation Internship
          Audrey and William H. Helfand Fund
1998  Eva Feld Fund
1999  Lilianna Sauter Fund
2004  Estate of Warren Adams
2006  Arnold P. Gold Foundation Fund for the Steve Miller Humanism in Medicine Lecture
2007  Jeremiah A. Barondess Fellowship in
          the Clinical Transaction
2011  Tom and Jackie Morris Endowment for
          Book Conservation